1. Go to /opt/sysconfig (#cd /opt/sysconfig)
2. edit file named i18n (#gedit i18n)
3. This is the original file:

LANG=”en_CA.UTF-8″
SUPPORTED=”zh_HK.UTF-8:zh_HK:zh:zh_CN.GB18030:zh_CN:zh:zh_TW.Big5:zh_TW:zh:en_CA.UTF-8:en_CA:en:en_US.UTF-8:en_US:en:fr_CA.UTF-8:fr_CA:fr:fr_FR.UTF-8:fr_FR:fr”
SYSFONT=”latarcyrheb-sun16″

4. I changed it as follows:

#LANG=”zh_CN.GB18030″
LANG=”en_CA.UTF-8″
LANGUAGE=”en_CA.UTF-8″
LC_CTYPE=”zh_CN.GB18030″
LC_TIME=”en_US.UTF-8″
SUPPORTED=”zh_HK.UTF-8:zh_HK:zh:zh_CN.GB18030:zh_CN:zh:zh_TW.Big5:zh_TW:zh:en_CA.UTF-8:en_CA:en:en_US.UTF-8:en_US:en:fr_CA.UTF-8:fr_CA:fr:fr_FR.UTF-8:fr_FR:fr”
SYSFONT=”latarcyrheb-sun16″

5. Restart the computer.

PS: everything looks good, using ctrl+space I can switch between ENG and CHN. One minor thing is that I wanna get french involved. Well, it’s not that I’m completely fluent in French, but I just wanted to be able to type a few things from time to time, so I had to  get goint and play around with my favorite Linux (I think I have gotten addicted to Red Hat…need a break…) …and Eventually I figured it out and here are my tricks!

Startx in Linux, there is a small tool called “Character Palette” which you can add to the bottom panel. It provides a convenient way to access accented characters, special symbols, etc. Now I can work on Linux freely! C’est tellement cool 🙂 Maybe there is another way to fix it, tell me if you do have.

